*Photo courtesy*


I saw this article pop up on my Facebook feed today. Have you ever heard of the website called Mashable? It's a tech-news website that covers the latest "news, information & resources." (http://mashable.com/about/)

They published an article today entitled "14 Google Tools You Didn't Know Existed." I decided to check the article out to see if any of these Google Tools could be utilized in the classroom. For the past year and a half, I've been utilizing Google Docs and Google Drive and both have come in handy!

There were a few I found that could possibly work:

Schemer - A website that shows you things to do in your local area. The article recommends this as being a great tool for travelers. Of course the teacher in me thinks this would be great to use for virtual field trips!

Google Fonts- 
Google has made 629 fonts available for private and commercial use. How cool is that!? I will definitely have to use it in the near future for this website. I think a great idea would be to allow students to choose their own font (readable, of course) and use it to write stories in class.

Google Developers- I briefly checked out this website and have bookmarked it to explore it a bit further. The article says that Google Developers is multi-faceted.  It allows you to internationalize websites and give live presentations of tutorials. I'm thinking this would be a great tool to use for a Flipped Classroom concept.



Google Keep- Google Keep connects to your Google Drive. (Google Drive deserves a separate post in itself, it is a wonderful tool!) Google Keep lets you store memos, voice memos, pictures, and check lists. This would be a great tool to use for group projects. Students could store their pictures, make memos, and utilize check lists in order to gather information.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.